Musings

A Day in the Life of a Farestart Student

I recently began a culinary training program at Farestart and have now completed week two, day three to be perfectly precise. What tangible things can I show to mark my progress? Why, I now wear the Farestart signature cap, and carry around my very own food thermometer. Next carrot dangling in front of my very weary eyes? A set of measuring spoons I believe.

Days go by in a relative haze, where I groan at the sound of my alarm, often harmonizing if only briefly, with the tune of the pitter-pattering Seattle drizzle. Leaving the house when it’s still dark outside always makes me apprehensive, yet to make the rigid eight a.m. roll call, that is what I must do every morning. When the days end I rush home so that I can collapse in a heap and fall asleep before the start of nightfall. In the interests of completing everything ahead of time, (I was never one to procrastinate) I loaded in all of my shelter runs, four days in a row, which means despite days of extra sleep nothing has changed and I am still exhausted beyond recognition. My muscles ache from my brows all the way to the soles of my feet, and though a loved one is kind enough to massage the tensions away, they inevitable return the next day.

The week ahead promises a bit more respite and I look forward to each day despite the bone quaking exhaustion. Each day I learn something new, and that in itself is reward enough for someone who has long been out of school. And though I have not paid a visit to the gym since before I began the program, I caught a glimpse of my forearms this morning in the mirror on the way out the door, and my, my, let’s just say I’d give Sarah Jessica Parker a run for her money!

About Jean C Wong

I am a world traveler, writer, photographer, and teacher. I've lived all over the world and speak 5 languages.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Photos

Mekong Delta

Waking up in Halong Bay

Golden Dragon, Vietnam

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

